Digital Edition of the Cuneiform Texts from Haft Tappeh

Active
Cuneiform texts are transliterated and made available digitally Vanessa Liebler for the i3mainz, CC BY SA 4.0

The project Digital Edition of the Cuneiform Texts from Haft Tappeh is dedicated to the transliteration and digital provision of more than 600 cuneiform texts from cuneiform texts from Haft Tappeh (Iran). The aim of the project is the and further development of a digital workflow taking into account existing tools existing tools, international standards and computer linguistic computer linguistic evaluation methods.

Motivation

Haft Tappeh (ancient Kabnak) is located in southwestern Iran in the province of Khuzestan, about 15 km southeast of the ancient city of Susa. The geographical position has made Haft Tappeh an important site of Bronze Age history and culture. culture. To date, large-scale excavations have revealed, in addition to architectural remains of a palace, more than 1400 text fragments of cuneiform tablets cuneiform tablets in Babylonian language have been uncovered. Most of them administrative documents, the final linguistic edition of which is still pending. is still pending.

In the first phase of the DFG-funded project, the 600 to 650 texts excavated by Behzad Mofidi-Nasrabadi (JGU) will be digitally edited and prepared for machine reading. The processing with contemporary methods and the open provision of the results should enable the investigation of paleography, lexis, syntax, tablet formats, text categories, bureaucratic protocol and modus operandi of the important text corpus beyond the narrower circle of Ancient Near Eastern Studies.

 For this purpose, i3mainz is developing a digital workflow for cuneiform tablets that starts with the existing 3D data and photographs of the tablets and digitally prepares the contents via transliteration and computer-linguistic as well as semantic annotation. The focus here is not on the creation of a new portal for the provision of cuneiform data, but on the production of FAIR data that can be integrated into other repositories already existing or under construction. The acronym FAIR stands for findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable and refers to internationally accepted principles for making research data available. The tools developed are made available in a Git repository. This makes it easier to replicate the workflows in other projects. This makes not only the data findable, accessible, interoperable and usable but also the software.

Activities

After a kickoff meeting in 2019 to define the initial workflow of the cuneiform tablets with Gitlab and Seafile cloud storage, the main focus in the year 2020 was focused on the testing of the workflow and the preparation of the first preparing the first data of the digital edition.

In spring 2020, Ali Zalaghi completed the consolidation and digital cataloging of the 3D scans and photographs already created in advance for the project. Tim Brandes and Eva Huber produced initial transliterations of a large number of the cuneiform tablet texts. They form the data basis for the development of the overarching data model of the Haft Tappeh project. Timo Homburg formulated this as an ontology, which includes the provision of the transliterations, images and 3D scans via a Linked Data graph with SPARQL endpoint and the linking of further thematically related resources via the internet. In addition, work has begun on the project’s Git-based web platform, the “Cuneiform Workbench”. In the future, it will provide digital support for the edition of the cuneiform texts, enable the data to be made available in interoperable formats, and simplify their transfer to corresponding archival databases (repositories).

Eva Huber, Tim Brandes and Timo Homburg successfully submitted an application for funding for a workshop for young researchers in the field of computational linguistics, digital humanities and cuneiform research within the framework of the ideas competition “Small Subjects: Visibly Innovative!” announced by the BMBF and the HRK. The aim of the Workshop “From analog to digital: Conceptions of cuneiform research in the 21st century using the example of administrative documents” is to network these research communities in order to develop digital standards beyond the boundaries of the disciplines. The Haft Tappeh project aims to initiate this process not only through the young scholars workshop, but also through a scholarly symposium envisioned by the project. For the support of the young scholars workshop, but also for better networking among cuneiform scholars, a new portal, the Initiative for Digital Cuneiform Studies (IDCS), has been launched to accompany and collect the results of the workshop.

With Hubert Mara, since June 2020 managing director of mainzed at Mainz University of Applied Sciences, additional perspectives have emerged with regard to the analysis of 3D data. The software framework GigaMesh developed by him was introduced to the work of the project with a workshop in October 2020. For the Haft Tappeh project, potentials arise in the area of automatic recognition of cuneiform characters, their annotation and linkage with the transliterated texts. In a cross-project approach, preliminary work on a scheme for capturing the technical metadata of 3D scans has been integrated within the Haft Tappeh project and incorporated into the data model.

In 2021, the Haft Tappeh project will seek dialog with further experts, infrastructure-providing institutions, and scholars from the field of digital text edition, advance the further development of the web platform, and prepare the publication of the project results.

Digitale Edition der Keilschrifttexte aus Haft Tappeh

Aktiv 3D-Messtechnik Spatial Humanities und Digital Heritage
Keilschrifttexte werden transliteriert und digital bereitgestellt Vanessa Liebler für das i3mainz, CC BY SA 4.0

Das Projekt Digitale Edition der Keilschrifttexte aus Haft Tappeh widmet sich der Transliteration und digitalen Bereitstellung von mehr als 600 Keilschrifttexten aus Haft Tappeh (Iran). Ziel des Projektes ist die Erarbeitung und Weiterentwicklung eines digitalen Arbeitsablaufs unter Berücksichtigung vorhandener Werkzeuge, internationaler Standards und computerlinguistischer Auswerteverfahren.

Motivation

Haft Tappeh (das antike Kabnak) liegt im Südwesten Irans in der Provinz Khuzestan, etwa 15 km südöstlich der alten Stadt Susa. Die geografische Lage hat Haft Tappeh zu einem wichtigen Ort der bronzezeitlichen Geschichte und Kultur gemacht. Bis heute wurden in großflächigen Ausgrabungen neben architektonischen Resten eines Palastes mehr als 1400 Textfragmente von Keilschrifttafeln in babylonischer Sprache freigelegt. Die meisten von ihnen sind Verwaltungsurkunden, deren abschließende sprachwissenschaftliche Edition aussteht.

In der ersten Phase des von der DFG geförderten Projekts sollen die 600 bis 650 von Behzad Mofidi-Nasrabadi (JGU) ausgegrabenen Texte digital ediert und maschinenlesbar aufbereitet werden. Die Bearbeitung mit zeitgemäßen Verfahren und die offene Bereitstellung der Ergebnisse soll über den engeren Kreis der Altorientalstik hinaus die Untersuchung von Paläographie, Lexik, Syntax, Tafelformaten, Textkategorien, bürokratischem Protokoll und modus operandi des wichtigen Textcorpus ermöglichen.

 Dafür entwickelt das i3mainz einen digitalen Workflow für Keilschrifttafeln, die bei den vorhandenen 3D-Daten und Photographien der Tafeln ansetzt und über die Transliteration und die computerlinguistische sowie semantische Annotation die Inhalte digital aufbereitet. Hierbei liegt der Fokus nicht auf der Erstellung eines neuen Portals für die Bereitstellung von Keilschriftdaten, sondern auf der Produktion von FAIRen Daten, die in andere bereits bestehende oder im Aufbau befindliche Repositorien integriert werden können. Das Akronym FAIR steht für findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable und verweist auf international akzeptierte Prinzipien für die Bereitstellung von Forschungsdaten. Die entwickelten Werkzeuge werden in einem Git-Repository zur Verfügung gestellt. Dies erleichtert es, die Abläufe in anderen Projekten zu replizieren. Damit werden nicht nur die Daten findbar, zugänglich, interoperabel und nutzbar sondern auch die Software.

Aktivitäten

Nachdem im Jahr 2019 in einem Kickoff Meeting der initiale Workflow der Edition der Keilschrifttafeln mit Gitlab und Seafile Cloudspeicher festgelegt wurde, lag ein Schwerpunkt des Jahres 2020 auf der Erprobung des Workflows und der Aufbereitung erster Daten der digitalen Edition.

Im Frühjahr 2020 schloss Ali Zalaghi die Konsolidierung und die digitale Katalogisierung der bereits im Vorfeld für das Projekt erstellten 3D Scans und Photographien ab. Tim Brandes und Eva Huber fertigten erste Transliterationen einer Vielzahl der Keilschrifttafeltexte an. Sie bilden die Datengrundlage für die Entwicklung des übergeordneten Datenmodells des Haft Tappeh Projektes. Timo Homburg formulierte dieses als Ontologie, die die Bereitstellung der Transliterationen, Bilder und 3D Scans über einen Linked Data Graphen mit SPARQL Endpoint und die Verlinkung von weiteren thematisch verbundenen Ressourcen über das Internet umfasst. Begonnen wurde daneben mit der auf Git basierenden Webplattform des Projekts, der „Cuneiform Workbench“. Sie leistet zukünftig die digitale Unterstützung bei der Edition der Keilschrifttexte, ermöglicht die Bereitstellung der Daten in interoperablen Formaten und vereinfacht ihre Überführung in entsprechende Archivdatenbanken (Repositories).

Eva Huber, Tim Brandes und Timo Homburg reichten erfolgreich einen Antrag auf Förderung eines Workshops für Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen im Bereich der Computerlinguistik, Digital Humanities und der Keilschriftforschung im Rahmen des von BMBF und der HRK ausgeschriebenen Ideenwettbewerbs “Kleine Fächer: sichtbar innovativ!” ein. Ziel des Workshop “Von analog zu digital: Konzeptionen der Keilschriftforschung im 21. Jahrhundert am Beispiel administrativer Urkunden” ist die Vernetzung dieser Forschungscommunities, um digitale Standards über die Grenzen der Fachbereiche hinaus zu entwickeln. Diesen Prozess will das Haft Tappeh Projekt nicht nur durch den Nachwuchsworkshop, sondern auch durch eine im Projekt vorgesehene wissenschaftliche Fachtagung anstoßen. Für die Unterstützung des Nachwuchsworkshops, aber auch für die bessere Vernetzung der Keilschriftwissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler untereinander, wurde eine neues Portal, die Initiative for Digital Cuneiform Studies (IDCS), ins Leben gerufen, welches die Ergebnisse des Workshops begleitet und sammelt.

Mit Hubert Mara, seit Juni 2020 Geschäftsführer des mainzed an der Hochschule Mainz, haben sich zusätzliche Perspektiven im Bezug auf die Auswertung der 3D-Daten ergeben. Das von ihm entwickelte Software-Framework GigaMesh wurde mit einem Workshop im Oktober 2020 in die Arbeiten des Projekts eingeführt. Für das Haft Tappeh Projekt ergeben sich Potentiale im Bereich der automatischen Erkennung von Keilschriftzeichen, deren Annotation und Verknüpfung mit den transliterierten Texten. In einem projektübergreifenden Ansatz wurden hierzu Vorarbeiten an einem Schema für die Erfassung der technischen Metadaten von 3D Scans im Rahmen des Haft Tappeh Projektes integriert und in das Datenmodell übernommen.

Im Jahr 2021 wird das Haft Tappeh Projekt den Dialog mit weiteren Expertinnen und Experten, infrastrukturanbietenden Institutionen und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aus dem Bereich der digitalen Textedition suchen, die Weiterentwicklung der Webplattform vorantreiben sowie die Publikation der Projektergebnisse vorbereiten.