bim4cAIre – Shaping the Future of Care with the Digital Twin

Active
bim4cAIre Vanessa Liebler, CC BY SA 4.0

The aim of the project is to develop efficient methods for the generation of a building information model (as-built BIM), the use of which will be evaluated using digital care (e-health) as an application example. The potential of consumer-supported technologies and adaptive algorithms from the field of artificial intelligence (AI) will be used to partially automate the previously labor-intensive process chain.

Motivation

Against the backdrop of the growing needs of an aging population, researchers at the i3mainz are collaborating closely with the IIB of the Technical University of Darmstadt to produce concepts of a digital care process of the future. Being cared for at home is a scenario that is in demand and is characterized by a high degree of individuality.

Activities

In connection with building-related methods, care tasks can be mapped and offered digitally in short order. The modeling of a building and its integrated sensors for the purposes of care represents a diverse field of research, which Bastian Plaß is devoting his dissertation to.

Based on identified requirements of home care, two projects were initiated in Q3 2020. The first is a student-supported project with the aim of evaluating suitable 3D technologies for data acquisition from different market sectors. The second project builds on these results and evaluates home environments based on sensory representation (3D point cloud) in the context of a patient’s physical condition.

Results

The results of both projects are expected in Q1 of the following year. For 2021, the goal of the researchers is to apply new methods from AI to the use case and to intensify the scientific focus. By using generative networks (GAN), additional parts of the process chain are to be automatized.

bim4cAIre – Shaping the Future of Care with the Digital Twin

Aktiv Building Information Modeling Künstliche Intelligenz und Semantic Web
Bim4Caire Vanessa Liebler, CC BY SA 4.0

Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung effizienter Verfahren zur Erzeugung eines Gebäudeinformationsmodells (as-built BIM), deren Nutzung am Anwendungsbeispiel Digitale Pflege (E-Health) evaluiert werden. Dabei wird das Potential von consumergestützten Technologien und lernfähigen Algorithmen aus dem Bereich der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) eingesetzt und damit die bislang arbeitsintensive Verfahrenskette teilautomatisiert.

Motivation

Vor dem Hintergrund wachsender Bedarfe einer alternden Bevölkerung realisieren Wissenschaftler des i3mainz in enger Kooperation mit dem iib der TU Darmstadt Zukunftskonzepte eines digitalen Pflegeprozesses der Zukunft. Die Pflege zu Hause stellt darin ein gefragtes Szenario dar, welches sich durch eine hohe Individualität auszeichnet.

Aktivitäten

In Verbindung mit bauwerksbezogenen Methoden können Pflegehandlungen abgebildet und kurzerhand digital angeboten werden. Die Modellierung eines Bauwerks und darin integrierter Sensorik für Pflegezwecke repräsentiert ein vielfältiges Forschungsfeld, welchem sich Bastian Plaß im Rahmen seiner Dissertation widmet.

Auf Grundlage identifizierter Anforderungen einer Pflege zu Hause wurden zwei Vorhaben im Q3 2020 initiiert. Dabei handelt es sich einerseits um ein studentisch unterstütztes Projekt mit dem Ziel, geeignete 3D-Technologien für die Datenerfassung aus unterschiedlichen Marktbereichen zu evaluieren. Das zweite Projekt knüpft an diese Ergebnisse an und bewertet Wohnräumlichkeiten anhand der sensoralen Repräsentation (3D-Punktwolke) im Kontext der physischen Verfassung eines Patienten.

Resultate

Die Ergebnisse beider Arbeiten werden im Q1 des Folgejahres erwartet. Für 2021 setzen sich die Wissenschaftler das Ziel, neuartige Methoden aus der KI auf den Anwendungsfall zu übertragen und den wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkt zu intensivieren. Mit Hilfe von Generativen Netzwerken (GAN) sollen weitere Teile der Verfahrenskette automatisiert verarbeitet werden.