i2MON - Integrated Mining Impact Monitoring

Active
i2MON - Geodetic monitoring for early detection of changes in the earth's surface caused by mining activities Graphic: Vanessa Liebler for the i3mainz, CC BY SA 4.0

Movements of mountain slopes are to be monitored with an integrated monitoring system. monitoring system. At i3mainz the processing of laser scanning data is laser scanning data is developed and validated.

Motivation

The project i2MON, approved in the funding line HORIZON2020 RFCS, bundles the activities of ten European institutions with strong research with the aim of detecting mining-induced deformations of the earth’s surface by means of monitoring techniques. monitoring techniques, to model them with efficient techniques and to reliably and to predict them reliably.

Activities

The i3mainz has dealt with the possibilities and limits of surface deformations in the context of numerous the possibilities and limits of areal deformation measurements by means of terrestrial terrestrial laser scanning. The goal of the work was the paradigm shift for geodetic monitoring - away from the tachymetric the tachymetric acquisition of a few single points by means of individual prisms prisms mounted on the object, to an areal acquisition of several million points points directly on the object surface.

To this end, a long-range laser scanner was initially purchased and its performance and suitability for the intended targets were investigated. At the Loreley, but also directly in Mainz, the refraction influence of different heights over water surfaces was determined by measurements over the Rhine. The specially developed sand model of an open pit mine allowed the simulation of various landslide scenarios and the testing of different algorithms and modeling approaches.

DMT GmbH & Co. KG has carried out numerous measurement campaigns since the project began in different areas, such as open-pit mines and medium and high mountain ranges. Until the end of the project, the i3mainz will take on the evaluation of these data, among other things.

i2MON - Integrated Mining Impact Monitoring

Aktiv 3D-Messtechnik
i2MON - Geodätisches Monitoring zur frühzeitigen Detektion von bergbaubedingten Änderungen der Erdoberfläche Grafik: Vanessa Liebler für das i3mainz, CC BY SA 4.0

Bewegungen von Berghängen sollen mit einem integrierten Monitoringsystem überwacht werden. Am i3mainz wird dazu die Prozessierung von Laserscanndaten entwickelt und validiert.

Motivation

Das Projekt i2MON, genehmigt in der Förderschiene HORIZON2020 RFCS, bündelt die Aktivitäten von zehn forschungsstarken europäischen Institutionen mit dem Ziel, bergbaubedingte Deformationen der Erdoberfläche mittels Monitoring-Techniken zu detektieren, mit effizienten Techniken zu modellieren und zuverlässig vorherzusagen.

Aktivitäten

Das i3mainz hat sich im Rahmen zahlreicher Abschluss- und Projektarbeiten mit den Möglichkeiten und Grenzen flächenhafter Deformationsmessungen mittels terrestrischem Laserscanning auseinandergesetzt. Ziel der Arbeiten war die Einleitung eines Paradigmenwechsels für das geodätische Monitoring – weg von der tachymetrischen Erfassung weniger Einzelpunkte durch einzelne, am Objekt montierte Prismen, hin zu einer flächenhaften Erfassung mehrerer Millionen Punkte direkt auf der Objektoberfläche.

Hierzu wurde zunächst ein long-range Laserscanner angeschafft und auf seine Leistungsfähigkeit und Eignung für die anvisierten Ziele untersucht. An der Loreley, aber auch direkt in Mainz wurden durch Messungen über den Rhein der Refraktionseinfluss unterschiedlicher Höhe über Wasseroberflächen eruiert. Das eigens dafür entwickelte Sand-Modell eines Tagebaus erlaubte die Simulation verschiedener Hangrutsch-Szenarien sowie den Test unterschiedlicher Algorithmen und Modellierungsansätze.

Die DMT GmbH & Co. KG hat seit Projektbeginn zahlreiche Messkampagnen in unterschiedlichen Gebieten, etwa im Tagebau, im Mittel- und Hochgebirge durchgeführt. Das i3mainz wird sich bis zum Projektende u.a. der Auswertung dieser Daten annehmen.