BAM - Big-Data-Analytics in Environmental and Structural Monitoring

Active
Flowchart of the project Vanessa Liebler for the i3mainz, CC BY SA 4.0

An interdisciplinary team at Mainz University of Applied Sciences is researching the the potentials of current data mining and machine learning methods for learning methods for problems with a space-time relationship.

Motivation

The aim of the research project is to provide methods that will increase the usefulness of rapidly growing data volumes with a spatial reference. Thus, in the information systems based on machine learning are being developed in the which facilitate decision-making by means of analysis and visualization. facilitate decision-making. Furthermore, the degree of autonomy of optical monitoring systems on the basis of based on image analysis is being increased with the aid of deep learning systems.

Activities

Through the exchange of interests with various project partners from the mobility sector, intersections could be discovered, use cases developed, and promising data promising data were brought together. On this basis Alexander Rolwes and Thomas Müller are implementing a prototype application to for predicting parking garage occupancy in Mainz. They are currently working on the further development of the prediction as well as the integration into a holistic control model for the use of off-street parking spaces. Furthermore, they they are investigating the relationships between spatial factors and parking behavior. parking behavior.

Kira Zschiesche and Denise Becker are implementing promising methods for monitoring changes in structures. Among other things, they are gaining knowledge in connection with methods from structural health monitoring by performing optical vibration measurements on structures and testing initial approaches for automatic crack detection. To extend track safety, they are using a deep learning approach to develop a software solution that identifies trains in images through the use of artificial intelligence. In the future, the team will explore methods for automatic target detection to increase the level of automation in various processes.

BAM - Big-Data-Analytics in Environmental and Structural Monitoring

Aktiv 3D-Messtechnik Geoinformation, Geodateninfrastrukturen und GeoGovernment Geovisualisierung und AR/VR
Ablaufschema des Projekts Vanessa Liebler für das i3mainz, CC BY SA 4.0

Ein interdisziplinäres Team der Hochschule Mainz erforscht im Hinblick auf Big-Data die Potentiale aktueller Data Mining- und Machine Learning Verfahren für Fragestellungen mit Raum-Zeit-Bezug.

Motivation

Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist es, Verfahren bereitzustellen, die den Nutzen stark wachsender Datenmengen mit Raumbezug erhöhen. So werden im Bereich Smart City auf Machine Learning basierende Informationssysteme entwickelt, welche mittels Analyse und Visualisierung Entscheidungsfindungen erleichtern. Ferner wird der Autonomiegrad optischer Monitoringsysteme auf der Basis von Bildanalyse mithilfe von Deep-Learning-Systemen gesteigert.

Aktivitäten

Durch Interessensaustausch mit verschiedenen Projektpartnern aus dem Mobilitätssektor konnten Schnittmengen entdeckt, Use Cases entwickelt und vielversprechende Daten zusammengeführt werden. Auf dieser Basis implementieren Alexander Rolwes und Thomas Müller eine prototypische Anwendung zur Vorhersage der Parkhausauslastung in Mainz. Aktuell widmen sie sich der Weiterentwicklung der Vorhersage sowie der Integration in ein ganzheitliches Steuerungsmodell zur Nutzung von Off-Street Parkflächen. Darüber hinaus untersuchen sie die Zusammenhänge zwischen räumlichen Einflussfaktoren und dem Parkverhalten.

Kira Zschiesche und Denise Becker realisieren vielversprechende Verfahren zum Monitoring von Veränderungen an Bauwerken. Unter anderem erlangen sie Erkenntnisse in Verbindung mit Methoden aus dem Structural Health Monitoring, indem sie optische Schwingungsmessung an Bauwerken vornehmen und erste Ansätze zur automatischen Rissdetektion erproben. Um die Sicherheit im Gleisbereich zu erweitern, entwickeln sie mittels eines Deep Learning Ansatzes eine Softwarelösung, welche durch den Einsatz von Künstlicher Intelligenz Züge in Bildern identifiziert. Zukünftig wird das Team Verfahren zur automatischen Targetdetektion erforschen, um den Automatisierungsgrad bei verschiedenen Prozessen zu steigern.